Nanny Trail and for how long?

Greetings Nanny's
I am an Older Mature Arts Educator deciding to Nanny PT for extra income. I have worked with children teaching art for years and even a long history of Baby Sitting in General.
The world of being a Nanny is new to me and a bit baffled at the moment with one Family asking for a few Trail Runs.
I do understand Parents wanting the best for their kids yet at the same time, not wasting my time. Also letting me be with Child one on one long enough to see if Child is comfortable & relaxed with me to see if a good fit understandable.

6 month old baby will only sleep in my arms

I just started watching a almost 6 month old baby and I also bring my 7 month old along. The problem is he needs to nap in my arms every time he takes a nap which is twice a day when I’m there. My daughter is sleep trained (has been since 3 months). It’s caused I lot of problems having to hold him for 2 hours at a time. I have to pee and when I have my period it’s really bad. I have to change my tampon very frequently and I bleed through holding him. And yes I change it before I get ready for his nap. (Sorry for the tmi) I still bleed through.

Help! Parents keep telling me child is behind in school

I have been with the family I work for now for over 2 years. I'm super attached to the kids. Their 5 year old daughter started kindergarten this year and she is behind in almost everything. I help with homework and what I can but I feel like this isn't my responsibility. The parents had a parent teacher conference today and since she is so behind the teacher may keep they child back if she doesn't improve. The parents want to have a meeting with me to discuss how to improve. Am I in the wrong here? If not, how do I tell the parents this isn't my responsibility?

Time to move on?

I began my PT position in Oct 2015. One dear child, then age 7, now almost 10. My responsibilities included picking up dear child from school, homework, transport to her various extracurriculars. I work for a single mother (she is a lawyer) in an Atlanta suburb. The job was very appealing initially. I worked close to 30 hrs/week and my starting pay was $10. No paid holidays or other benefits. Meanwhile, I was engaged to my longtime sweetheart. 9months into the position, Mom moved her elderly father in and I began caring for him as well, (mostly companion care and meal prep).

Keep being attacked by 7 year old/how to know when to quit?

I've nannied two girls ages 4 and 7 for almost a year now. At first they were great then began throwing more tantrums, but nothing too crazy. But in the past couple months the 7 year old has started biting me, throwing things at me, scratching me, punching me, basically attacking me in anyway possible. She's also threatened me saying things like "I wish you were dead" or "I'm gonna torture you until you start crying" or "I'm gonna kill you".

Year anniversary coming up. Time to negotiate?

I am currently a full time nanny for two children ages 2 and four. The four year old goes to morning preschool 3 days a week. The two year old is under my care from 8-4pm. The mother is getting a divorce and this in turn is wreaking havoc on the children- the 4 year old girl more than the younger boy.

Should I Stay or Should I Go?

I am currently nannying for 3 year old twins and an 8 year old. I make $65 dollars a day to watch, potty train and take care of the girls throughout the day. I don’t do housekeeping beside cleaning up after the girls. Everyday I show up to work at 7:30 am, if not earlier. Most days I do not leave until 6:00-6:30 pm due to the mom wanting to take in or out the garbage or wanting to discuss the day. Dependent on whether or not the girls go down for a nap I can get a 1-2 hour break before the older one gets home from school.

Am I being underpaid?

I’ve been working with this family for almost 2 years now, Monday to Friday 7am to 5pm. When I first started with them they only had a 2 month old boy and mom was going back to work. They started paying me 250 a week/ 50 a day. They lived in a very small town (I live there too) and nany rates are super low. My duties were of course watching the kid, light housekeeping (sweeping, mopping, dishwasher, countertops). 4 months later they moved to the city which is 30 minutes from where I live and they used to live. House is 3 times bigger than the other.

Pages

Subscribe to nannysupportgroup.com RSS